

## **MEMORANDUM**

August 10, 2023

## **Utah Education Savings Board of Trustees Appointment**

S.B. 194 Higher Education Funding Amendments dissolved the Utah Higher Education Assistance Authority and its board and created a new Utah Education Savings Board of Trustees (UESB). The UESB is tasked with fiduciary oversight of the Utah Educational Savings Plan dba my529. The UESB will make policies governing the administration of my529 and amend policies related to board governance. The Utah Board of Higher Education appoints the members of the UESB and its chair, who serve at the pleasure of the Board. The individuals appointed should possess skills in one or more of the following areas: investments, accounting, finance, banking, education, technology, or financial operations. The attached list includes short biographies for individuals recommended to serve on the UESB.

## **Commissioner's Recommendation**

The Commissioner recommends, with the consent of the my529 Executive Director, that the Board appoint the following members to the Utah Education Savings Board of Trustees with terms expiring as follows:

Dr. Stephen Nadauld, expiring August 31, 2024 Lisa-Michele Church, expiring August 31, 2025 Palmer DePaulis, expiring August 31, 2025 Arthur Newell, expiring August 31, 2026 Lori Chillingworth, expiring August 31, 2026 John Lunt, expiring August 31, 2027 Mark Cain, expiring August 31, 2027

## Attachment